Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

13 May 2015 – After a late start to the morning to allow Giuliana to take an early nap we packed up a lunch and headed to Hanauma Bay for some world-class snorkeling.

Picnic lunch at Hanauma Bay

Picnic lunch at Hanauma Bay

The day was spent playing in the sand – and of course snorkeling.  Isabella went out a few times with Sherrie and myself.  I finally got Lucas to go out once with me right before we left and I was able to tow Aurelia around on the boogie board with a window for about 10 minutes to see some Convict Tangs in the shallows.

Isabella and I saw an octopus hiding in a hole along with many other types (Parrot Fish, Convict Tangs, Humuhumunukunukuapua, etc.).  However, Isabella and I both spent a lot of time following a Coronetfish around.  They are just beautiful creatures and so unusual – they look almost translucent in the water.  However, no sightings of turtles this time.

Lucas and Aurelia Playing in the Sand at Hanauma Bay

Lucas and Aurelia Playing in the Sand at Hanauma Bay

We spent about 5 hours at the bay and left when the park was closing allowing me to get a shot of the bay at sunset with nobody on the beach 🙂

Hanauma Bay at closing

Hanauma Bay at closing

